top of page
Search

"Claire's Christmas Chronicles: Navigating the Festive Season on a Thrifty Budget"

Updated: Nov 23, 2023


Claire, Mark and their beautifull children
Claire ,Mark and their beautifull children

In the heart of rural New South Wales, where the cost of living surge echoes across the globe, join me, Claire Louise Hooker, a mum of nine, as I unveil the secrets to keeping the holiday spirit alive without breaking the bank.

My husband Mark and I, parents to our vibrant brood, face the fortnightly pilgrimage of a 45 km journey to stock up on essentials. Despite the relentless rise in living costs, I manage to feed our family for a $5 per person per day, a feat achieved through strategic bulk buying and savvy shopping.

Our grocery strategy involves a blend of Aldi, Woolworths, and Coles, sprinkled with fresh market finds and end-of-week bargains. Chickens, ducks, and homegrown veggies add a sustainable touch to our menu, proving that a budget-friendly approach doesn't compromise variety.

I advocate for utilizing supermarket reward cards for extra savings and crafting treats at home. Creativity spills into family activities, where affordable options like museum visits, walks, and blackberry picking reign supreme. In the realm of education, we keep costs low by passing down textbooks and tapping into free online resources for home schooling.

As Christmas approaches, we allocate funds fortnightly for birthdays, holidays, and the grand festive celebration. My disciplined approach to budgeting extends beyond the grocery list, offering a holistic view of thrifty living that encompasses education, festivities, and daily life.

Join me in the Christmas Chronicles as I share more money-saving tips on my Instagram and Facebook pages. Through life's challenges, my family's resilience and strategic budgeting aim to inspire others navigating the delicate balance of finances and joy. After all, in the face of adversity, we make the most of what we have, cherishing the true meaning of the season.

Love Claire

xxx


47 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page